Subscribe to our Newsletter

* indicates required
Please subscribe me to the monthly newsletter.
Please email updates about the following events:
Please email alerts on the following subjects:
« All Posts

Foundation Matters

Charter Day 2024 Award Winners

Posted: April 23, 2024

2022 Charter Day Award Ceremony at First Baptist Church.

Each April, Historic Charleston Foundation (HCF) commemorates its 1947 founding by honoring extraordinary contributions in preserving Charleston’s irreplaceable historic built environment and cultural character. This year, we are honored to celebrate the following individuals and organizations who are instrumental to the past, present and future authenticity of Charleston and the Lowcountry. Awards include the Stoney Craftsmanship Award, the Whitelaw Founders Award, and the Joseph H. (Peter) Advocacy McGee Award. In addition, HCF will recognize two incredible members of our community with a special recognition award to honor their years of dedication to Charleston’s historic gardens. Reserved for only the most special occasions, this year the Foundation will also present Charter Day’s highest honor, the Frances R. Edmunds Award, to an integral Foundation staff member for the past 45 years. The Foundation invites the community to celebrate these Award Winners on Thursday, April 25th at 6 pm for the Awards Ceremony at First Baptist Church immediately followed by a reception at the Nathaniel Russell House Museum.

2024 Award Winners include: Joe Faust, the Old City Jail, Kevin Eberle, Taveau Church, the Beefield Community and Lowcountry Land Trust, Martha Zierden, Bob and Donna Cox and for 2024, the Frances R. Edmunds Award to Mr. Minh Nguyen. Read more about each award and recipients below.

The Stoney Craftsmanship Award recognizes craftspeople who have kept alive Charleston’s tradition of excellence in the building trades.

Award recipient:

The Whitelaw Founders Award recognizes individuals, groups, or government entities that actively engage in the long-term preservation of important buildings and places.

Award recipients:

Last year, Historic Charleston Foundation proudly created a new award named for Joseph H. (Peter) McGee, past HCF Chairman and notable preservation advocate. The Joseph H. (Peter) McGee Advocacy Award recognizes excellence in advocacy, community preservation and planning.

Award Recipients:

In 2024, the Foundation is proud to present a Special Recognition Award to

The Frances R. Edmunds Award for Historic Preservation is the Foundation’s highest honor and only presented on special occasions to recognize exceptional personal achievement in the field of historic preservation and service to our Mission Statement.

The 2024 Charter Day Awards Ceremony will take place on Thursday, April 25 at the historic First Baptist Church with a reception immediately following. Award winners will be available for interview after the awards ceremony. For more information on the Awards Ceremony and Reception, visit our website HERE. Read more about the 2023 Charter Day Award Winners on our BLOG HERE.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Event Categories