Menu

Subscribe to our Newsletter

* indicates required
Gender
Please subscribe me to the monthly newsletter.
Please email updates about the following events:
Please email alerts on the following subjects:

Honor What
Makes Us

The past is everywhere you look in Charleston – triumphs and tragedies, beauty and brutality, infused in art and architecture, etched in stone, held in memory.

We believe that every memory, every place, every story woven together is who we are. So, as a people and culture, we exist not apart from brick and mortar, marsh and mud, cobblestone and wrought iron, but together with – and within them.

As a city, we’re in a seminal period – one with the potential to broaden opportunity – or widen inequality. Where so many choices about our future rely on how we make sense of our past, right now.

Whether we choose to advocate for all of our neighborhoods, parks, gardens, and the memories they’re made of – or just some – relies on understanding that only when we share everyone's stories can we understand who we truly are – and make the vital decisions that move us all forward. Fail – and we lose an essential part of ourselves – and our city – that we can’t ever get back.

So, we make it our mission to ask questions and invite conversation. To challenge conventional thinking. To listen to everyone's memories and stories – and share them with the world. To collaborate with a diverse mix of citizens, public servants, organizations, and neighborhoods to ensure our city is a place we can all call home. When that happens, we honor the beautifully complicated character that is Charleston. We honor one another. We honor ourselves.

  • 1947

    As an outcome of a study by the Carolina Art Association (now the Gibbes Museum of Art), Historic Charleston Foundation (HCF) is incorporated as an educational, not-for-profit preservation organization. Frances R. Edmunds was named as its first director.

  • 1948

    The first Festival of Houses is established to generate revenue for the organization and to educate the public about Charleston’s architectural heritage and the benefits of preservation. Later, the Festival earns a reputation as one of America’s oldest and most prestigious heritage tour programs, with 130 historic properties and more than 650 volunteers over the month-long tour each year.

  • 1955

    HCF purchases the Nathaniel Russell House, c. 1808, one of the nation’s finest examples of early 19th century neoclassical architecture. The house opens to the public as a museum a year later. Recognizing the dwelling’s potential as an exhibition space, the Foundation begins procuring furnishings and decorative art by loan and purchase. The collection includes some of the most significant examples of 18th and 19th-century decorative and fine arts from America and abroad, including period furnishings crafted by early Charleston artisans.

  • 1957 - ‘76

    HCF establishes the nation’s first Revolving Fund to rehabilitate the Ansonborough neighborhood. By buying a property, stabilizing it, selling it to a preservation-minded buyer, then reinvesting the proceeds to purchase another house in the neighborhood, HCF establishes a pioneering urban renewal and preservation initiative that continues to serve as a national model. By 1976, HCF has saved a six-block neighborhood, including 60 buildings, several of which were donated by generous supporters who recognized the Foundation’s ability to rehabilitate and preserve important historic structures..

  • 1971 - ‘74

    HCF plays a key role in the development of the city’s Historic Preservation Plan of 1974. At the core of this plan is the most elaborate inventory and evaluation of historic structures (2,288 buildings) ever undertaken. One of the most significant results from this plan is a height ordinance to protect the integrity of historic streetscapes. In 2009, HCF was a co-recipient of an award from the National Trust for Historic Preservation for the revision of the 1974 plan. The revised plan examines social, economic and cultural issues affecting preservation and offers strategies for defining individual neighborhoods, addressing sprawl, gentrification, disaster management and the need for affordable housing.

  • 1977

    HCF targets two uptown neighborhoods, Radcliffeborough and Elliottborough, for stabilization and a program of home ownership for low-to-moderate-income families.

  • 1977 - ‘85

    HCF takes a lead role in discussions regarding the development of the hotel-convention complex that will become Charleston Place, an eight-story, 450-room hotel and convention center in the heart of downtown Charleston. HCF brings in nationally recognized architects to suggest design changes to make it more compatible with its historic environs. Careful planning and successful completion of this project will re-establish King Street, “Charleston’s weak, sick spine” according to Frances Edmunds, HCF’s first executive director, as the city’s most important commercial artery.

  • 1995

    HCF purchases the Aiken-Rhett House, c. 1820, from The Charleston Museum to ensure it remains a house museum accessible to the public. The site serves as the nation’s most intact example of a 19th century urban townhouse complex with dependency buildings, including slave quarters, stables and privies. The buildings are conserved as they existed in 1858 during the residency of Gov. and Mrs. William Aiken.

  • 1996

    HCF purchases the historic Captain James Missroon House, c. 1808, at 40 East Bay Street. When restoration is completed in 2001, the building will serve not only as the Foundation’s headquarters, but also as a state-of-the-art preservation and archival center for those interested in restoring historic structures and researching Charleston’s architectural history.

  • 2011

    HCF is selected to present the loan exhibit at the 2011 Winter Antiques Show in New York. Grandeur Preserved: Masterworks Presented by Historic Charleston Foundation showcases objects from the Foundation’s outstanding collection of material culture as well as significant items from other leading Charleston institutions.

  • 2014 - Present

    The Foundation is targeting areas such the North Central Neighborhood to help stabilize housing as the development pressures in the area are dramatically increasing. So, too, is the pressure to preserve the historic character of North Central and other neighborhoods facing escalating real estate values. Projects such as the Romney Urban Garden, established by HCF in partnership with Enough Pie and the New Israel Reformed Episcopal Church, are community-building spaces, helping preserve the area’s cultural character. To address the issue of escalating real estate values, which are in some instances forcing long-term residents from their homes, HCF has joined with the City of Charleston to establish the Palmetto Land Trust (PLT), providing $70,000 as seed money upon the occasion of HCF's 70th Anniversary. The PLT will insure housing affordability options are available within the City of Charleston.

Staff Profiles

Administration
Katharine "Kitty" S. Robinson

President and CEO

(843) 720-1191
KRrobinson@HistoricCharleston.org

Annette Chamberlain

Receptionist/Marketing & Comm. Assistant

(843) 723-1623
AChamberlain@HistoricCharleston.org

Sarah Lewis

Executive Associate

(843) 720-1190
SLewis@HistoricCharleston.org

Finance
Cynthia Ellis

Chief Financial Officer

(843) 720-1193
CEllis@HistoricCharleston.org

Annette Murphy

Staff Accountant

(843) 720-1192
AMurphy@HistoricCharleston.org

Terri Woodall

Accounts Payable Coordinator

(843) 720-1185
TWoodall@HistoricCharleston.org

Marketing
Holland Williams

Director of Marketing

(843) 724-8496
HWilliams@HistoricCharleston.org

Fanio King

Manager of Public Programs and Marketing

(843) 720-1184
FKing@HistoricCharleston.org

Blair Phillips

Manager of Marketing Services

(843) 722-1149
BPhillips@HistoricCharleston.org

Franny Russell

Special Programming Coordinator

(843) 724-8489
FRussell@HistoricCharleston.org

Operations & Philanthropy
Cynthia Wood

Chief Operating Officer

(843) 720-1183
CWood@HistoricCharleston.org

Liz Caldbeck

Manager of Volunteers and Communications

(843) 723-8292
LCaldbeck@HistoricCharleston.org

Erika Hoffman

Philanthropy Coordinator

(843) 720-1181
EHoffman@HistoricCharleston.org

Lexi Trempe

Philanthropy Manager

(843) 724-8497
LTrempe@HistoricCharleston.org

Preservation & Museums
Winslow Hastie

Chief Preservation Officer

(843) 720-1186
W.Hastie@HistoricCharleston.org

Lauren Northup

Director of Museums

(843) 724-8486
LNorthup@HistoricCharleston.org

Christopher Cody

Manager of Advocacy and Staff Attorney

(843) 720-1182
CCody@HistoricCharleston.org

Julius Dargan

Manager of Nathaniel Russell House Museum

(843) 805-6735
JDargan@HistoricCharleston.org

Karen Emmons

Archivist/Librarian

(843) 724-8490
KEmmons@HistoricCharleston.org

Will Hamilton

Property Manager

(843) 720-1180
WHamilton@HistoricCharleston.org

Nick Jones

Maintenance

(843) 723-1623

Jamie Mansbridge

Museums Coordinator

(843) 724-8482
JMansbridge@HistoricCharleston.org

Leigh Moring

Education Coordinator

(843) 724-8491
LMoring@HistoricCharleston.org

Minh Nguyen

Maintenance Manager

(843) 723-1623

Vinh Nguyen

Maintenance

(843) 723-1623

Katherine Saunders Pemberton

Manager of Research and Education

(843) 723-3646
KPemberton@HistoricCharleston.org

Valerie Perry

Manager of Aiken-Rhett House Museum

(843) 724-8485
VPerry@HistoricCharleston.org

Dat Phan

Maintenance

(843) 723-1623

April Wood

Manager of Easements & Technical Outreach

(843) 805-6731
AWood@HistoricCharleston.org

Retail & Licensing
Cassie Cline

Receiving and Web Coordinator

(843) 724-8484
CCline@HistoricCharleston.org

John Keleher

Manager, The Shops of Historic Charleston Foundation

(843) 724-8487
JKeleher@HistoricCharleston.org

Kyle Kesterson

Manager, Market Shop of Historic Charleston Foundation

843-300-4952
KKesterson@HistoricCharleston.org

Kathy Noland

Director of Retail Operations

843-724-8494
KNoland@HistoricCharleston.org